I decided today that I'm going to include a powerpoint slide show that I made for my Grandpa's funeral in my literacy narrative a long with a short (or long) synopsis of his life.  This will make my literacy narrative even later than it already is, but once I thought of it I couldn't not do it.  It make me sad to that I have to think about how I wish I knew more details of my Grandpa's life.  He was really cool and I know he did a lot of things but most of what I know is second hand.  I should have spent more time asking him questions.  We were really close when I was younger and in later years I haven't spent as much time with him as I should have and as I would have liked to.. 

I keep thinking about Lex's comparison to writing as an exorcism.  I feel as though including the powerpoint and stories of my Grandpa I will be immersed in his memory and let go of this sense of guilt I carry.  I will miss him.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am 27 years old and I live in Portage, Michigan.  I graduated from the University of Illinois - Urbana/Champaign, in 2007 and have returned to school to earn my teacher certification through Western Michigan University.

    Archives

    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All